Tags

, , , , ,

Sorry, not sorry about it…

I hate to admit this but…

I have a guilty pleasure for…

No matter how you choose to word it, we all have done it. Apologized for something that we like before anyone has time to ridicule it, assuming that there is something socially wrong with what we enjoy, what entertains us, or what brings us happiness. Now I’m not talking about things that are just downright immoral, like kicking puppies or rooting against the Twins (kidding – only on the Twins part), but the little things that make us enjoy life just a little bit more.

I mean, isn’t that beauty of humanity? That we are all different. That we all have a different list of things that bring happiness to our life and no two lists are the same.

I dare you, in fact double-dog-you, to not apologize for the things that bring you joy, and then take it one step further, and find out the things that bring joy to the people around you.

A few of the things that bring me happiness that I am not afraid to admit:

ABC Family. I watch about every regular TV show on that channel. Pretty Little Liars, The Fosters, Switched at Birth, Ravenswood, Baby Daddy, Melissa and Joey…and if they add a new show, you can bet your bottoms-dollar that I will give it an episode or two. Now I might not continue to watch every show, sorry Bunheads, but I will at least give them a go. Why you may ask? Because I am a tween at heart. From my days of ‘N Sync and kissing posters of Justin Timberlake, which I have never fully admitted even though my brother and sister could clearly see my Lip Smacker’s  on the paper, to reading Gossip Girl books well into my 20’s. These shows bring out every ounce of my inner tween and I love every minute of it.

Snooki. Yep, I said it, I like Snooki and she brings me entertainment.  I might prefer her on Twitter or Instagram compared to Snooki and JWOWW (I still DVR it), and I’ve never read her books, yet the thought has crossed my mind, she is a source of entertainment for me and I don’t care what you think about it.

Staying with the theme of TV and celebrities, you are much more likely to find me watching E! News than the daily or local news. It’s not that I don’t care about what is going on in the world; I frankly find it more depressing than uplifting. Although, this is not something I am ashamed of, I am trying to become more interested in what is going on around me and what will affect my future and the future of my family.

Lastly, I still have a blanky. I sleep with it every night, make it with my bed every morning, and prefer to bring it with me on overnight trips. Yes I know I am closer to 30 than 20, and no I do not care. I will have that blanky until my resting day.

a.wise approach ~ you are the maker of your happiness, do not apologize for it.

Ashley 

